Friends Of Fred Exhibit

A few months ago, I was contacted by the Frederic Remington Art Museum in Ogdensburg, New York to create a piece of art inspired by  Mr. Remington for an exhibit to honor his 150th birthday. As Mr. Remington is turning 150 just a few short days before I also hit a scary round number, I thought it appropriate that we celebrate together so I said yes and immediately began squealing with delight!

Obama

Remington's bronze cast of Bronco Buster in the Oval Office. Image from the October 17th, 2010 issue of The New York Times Magazine.

While most renown for his western inspired bronze sculptures, Remington was also an accomplished painter. His nocturne studies are among (in my humble opinion) the most beautiful in his collection. An avid lover of the Thousand Islands region, Remington had a studio on an island in Chippewa Bay and has several works in his vast collection depicting the area.

The End Of The Day

Remington's, The End Of The Day c.1904 which unfortunately for Scott has inspired not only my piece for the show, but whole lot of singing "At The End Of The Day" from Les Miserables

I too am a great lover of the incomparable Thousand Islands, and spent my childhood running up and down the St. Lawrence in a small Boston Whaler and dreaming of the days when I would have a home on it’s shores. It was with all of these things in mind, that I created my piece in honor of Frederic Remington and his birth 150 long years ago.

Singer Castle Nocturne

My final piece: "Singer Castle Nocturne" will be on display at the Frederic Remington Art Museum in the Friends Of Fred Exhibit beginning on Saturday, September 24th.

I began the process with a photo I took of Singer Castle a couple of years ago and used that as the base to digitally enhance the photo into a night scene. Then I “painted” on other effects to give the image the interesting quality that a lot of Remington’s nocturne paintings possess. I spent many sweaty and nauseous nights fretting over weather I could create something worthy of such an honor, but finally after many attempts I came up with a piece that I felt confident in. I only hope Fred would be as proud to have me as a friend as I am proud to be considered among them.

Original photo of Singer Castle (also in Chippewa Bay) I took a couple of years ago.
Singer Castle

One of the original attempts at turning the photo into a nocturne

The Frederic Remington Art Museum in Ogdensburg, New York is truly an enchanting place full to the hilt with the most wonderful, talented and passionate people I have ever met. It has recently been named #4 on the Edmonton Journal’s list “10 Easy Autumn Getaways Near Ottawa, and has the most thoughtful and entertaining Facebook page of any business I have ever seen. The “Friends of Fred” exhibit is one of many special events the Museum has planned to honor Remington’s 150th birthday and opens on Saturday, September 24th at 2pm. For more information on this or any other event planned by the museum, check out their website.

About I Love Upstate NY

Exploring Upstate New York, one adventure at a time... View all posts by I Love Upstate NY

4 responses to “Friends Of Fred Exhibit

  • Donna Parisi

    Nice Job!! I love seeing the “process” in developing an art piece. It’s not always an easy transition from concept to reality!!! I applaud your effort and talent!!!

  • Terry Elkins

    Nice work! So glad you contributed a nocturne. I loved Remington’s work in The Color Of Night show and thought about doing something like that myself for the B-day show. Terry Elkins

    • aparisi13

      Thanks, Terry! I am really looking forward to meeting all of the artists in the show and seeing their contributions! I love Remington’s nocturnes and spent a couple of months wavering on which piece I was going to choose as my inspiration. I don’t know if I ever actually settled on a piece, more than I was inspired by different aspects of Remington’s life and our shared love for the Islands although it is pretty obvious that The End Of The Day has played a big role in influencing my use of color and focal point. Thanks for the great comment!

Leave a Reply

