For Kim

Silhouettes

Silhouettes in the morning

This weekend, my friend and coworker, Kim will be a part of the 2011 Iron Girl competition in Syracuse, NY. I am so profoundly awed by the time and effort she has put into training for this event and the amount of mental and physical sacrifice she has made to meet this goal she has set for herself. In honor of her strength, determination and hard work I am recapping our trip to the Ironman Triathlon in Lake Placid in 2007.

While watching the events at Ironman I remember feeling overwhelmingly touched by the support of the families and friends of the athletes. The entire town was packed to the rafters with people, bikes and spandex. There were camera crews from ESPN and huge stacks of speakers playing all kinds of inspirational rock (like The Foo Fighters, Hero and U2’s, Beautiful Day) all over Lake Placid that day. It was one of those jaw dropping moments where you think to yourself, “how have I never heard about this before?”.

The Ironman Triathlon begins with a 2.4 mile swim with is equivalent to 2 laps around mirror lake, a 112 mile bike ride and then ends with a 26.2 mile run. It is truly amazing what the human body can do with the right amount of training and dedication. (For more info on Ironman in Lake Placid, see http://ironmanlakeplacid.com/).

As far as the Iron Girl, well I have nothing but admiration for these women who are superheroes in my mind. These professionals, mothers, sisters, friends, athletes, these human beings who posses the strength of mind and character to push their bodies to the limit just to say…”Yeah, I did that”. Here’s to you, Super Kim. I wish you the best of luck this Sunday. Scott and I will be in the crowd cheering you on!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About I Love Upstate NY

Exploring Upstate New York, one adventure at a time... View all posts by I Love Upstate NY

One response to “For Kim

Leave a Reply

